Home > KAZI Interview, Mystery > Multicultural Mystery Novel Set in LA

Multicultural Mystery Novel Set in LA

Dead Soon EnoughTune in Sunday, September 20 at 12:30 p.m. CST for my interview with Steph Cha, author of the new mystery novel DEAD SOON ENOUGH, on KAZI 88.7 FM in Austin, TX.  Set in present day Los Angeles, DEAD SOON ENOUGH is Steph Cha’s third novel featuring fictional private investigator Juniper Song, a millenial Korean American P.I. who plies her trade in a noirish multicultural setting.

From the Publisher

From critically acclaimed author Steph Cha-Los Angeles-based P.I. Juniper Song is back in a thrilling story about heritage and responsibility, motherhood and genocide.

Finally a licensed private detective, Steph Cha’s “compelling and original” (LA Times) crime heroine Juniper Song is managing her own cases as the junior investigator of Lindley & Flores. When a woman named Rubina Gasparian approaches Song, she knows she’s in for her most unusual case yet. Rubin and her husband Van-both Armenian-American doctors-cannot get pregnant, so Rubina’s younger cousin, Lusig, is acting as their surrogate. However, Lusig’s best friend Nora has been missing for a month, and Rubina is concerned that her nearly eight-month-pregnant cousin is dealing with her stress in a way that could harm the baby. Rubina hires Song to shadow her and report all that she finds. Of course, Lusig is frantically searching for Nora, and Song’s case soon turns into a hunt for the missing woman, an activist embroiled in an ugly, public battle over the erection of an Armenian genocide memorial. As Song probes the depths of both the tight-knit Armenian-American community and the groups who antagonize it, she realizes that Nora was surrounded on all sides by danger. But can she find out what happened before it’s too late for Nora or Rubina and Van’s child-or for Song herself?

Steph Cha

Steph Cha

A gorgeously written, tightly plotted, and emotionally charged read, Dead Soon Enough is an unforgettable story of what we will do for the things we believe in, and the people we love, perfect for fans of Lisa Unger and Tana French.

About the Author

STEPH CHA is the author of Follow Her Home and Beware Beware. Her writing has appeared in The L.A. Times, The L.A. Review of Books, and Trop Magazine. A graduate of Stanford University and Yale Law School, she lives in her native city of Los Angeles, California. Dead Soon Enough is her third novel.

Advertisements
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: